skip navigation

Chicago Catholic Hockey League

The Chicago Catholic Hockey League (CCHL) was established in 1963.  The league consists of eleven Chicagoland Catholic schools offering high school hockey as a school sponsored sport.  The CCHL is the oldest youth hockey league in Illinois and is administered and operated by current and former league coaches.  The Kennedy Cup playoffs have been the highlight of each season making the Kennedy Cup one of the most coveted trophies in high school athletics in Illinois.

The CCHL maintains a rich history of talented student athletes that have gone on to play collegiately, internationally and professionally. Notable alumni include former NHL players Chris Chelios (Mount Carmel), Ed Olczyk (Br. Rice), Bates Battaglia (Fenwick), Joe Corvo (Fenwick) and Tim Stapleton (Fenwick). Former NCAA standouts Gary Kruzich (DeLaSalle, 1984 NCAA Champion at Bowling Green 1984 and Finals MVP) and Scott Paluch (St. Rita and Bowling Green 1988 All American ). The CCHL has produced current and former collegiate coaches: George Roll (Br. Rice and Nazareth College), Joe Augustine (St. Rita and Rhode Island University) Mark Opstipina (Mount Carmel and Milwaukee School of Engineering) and John Micheletto (Mount Carmel and U-MassAmherst). 


cchlbestof3 CCHL cchlbestof3

2021 DiCristina Cup & Kennedy Cup Finals Live Stream

If you are interested in watching the 2021 DiCristina Cup and Kennedy Cup Finals via live stream, please click the link at the bottom of this post.  The feed will go live approximately before the start time of the games.

Game Schedule:

Kennedy Cup Finals between Benet and St. Ignatius

  • Game 1 is at 5:40 PM on May 8th
  • Game 2 is at 5:00 PM on May 9th
  • Game 3 is at 7:30 PM on May 13th (if necessary)

DiCristina Cup Finals between Providence Catholic and St. Ignatius

  • 7:30 PM on May 8th

Special thanks to the St. Ignatius hockey program for their generosity in sharing this link with all interested spectators.

Good luck to all of the teams.

2021 Chicago Catholic Hockey League Awards

The coaches from the Chicago Catholic Hockey League are please to announce the following honors and awards:

John Deuran Most Valuable Player Award: Luke Lawrence (Brother Rice)

Tom Kurow Most Outstanding Player Award: Jack Fortuna (Fenwick)

Most Valuable Defenseman: Anthony Klos (Benet)

Jim Misiora Leader Scorer Award: Sam Greco (Marmion)

Coach of the Year: Jon Grzbek (Benet)

Lady Ginger Sportsmanship Award: Connor Kause (St. Ignatius) 

2021 Chicago Catholic Hockey League All-Stars


  • Peyton Botich (Providence Catholic)
  • Thomas Burdick (Benet)
  • Sean Curtin (Brother Rice)
  • Sean Doyle (St. Ignatius)
  • Scotland Ernsting (Benet)
  • Jack Fortuna (Fenwick)
  • Andrew Galle (Marmion)
  • Will Gerami (St. Ignatius)
  • Sam Greco (Marmion)
  • Luke Lawrence (Brother Rice)
  • Joe McConnell (Providence Catholic)
  • Tommy McDonald (Benet)


  • Luka Defilippo (Mount Carmel)
  • Jack Doogan (Providence Catholic)
  • Anthony Klos (Benet)
  • Nick Mathurin (St. Ignatius)
  • Jacob Plonka (Benet)
  • Luke Shuler (Marist)


  • Luke Brzezinski (Providence Catholic)
  • Liam Casto (Benet)
  • Sebastian Wigfield (St. Ignatius)


CCHL On-Line Web Store

Click here to access the CCHL On-Line Web Store to purchase CCHL apparel.

Siteheader r2

Contact Us

Organization Name

Phone: 555-555-5555